The woman I want to be

There are women who make things better… simply by showing up. There are women who make things happen. There are women who make their way. There are women who make a difference. And women who make us smile. There are women of wit and wisdom who- through strength and courage- make it through. There are women who change the world everyday… Women like you.”

Ashley Rice

I came across this quote just as  I was thinking of one of the commitments I made at the beginning of this year – to volunteer with the medical van at church looking after the homeless. I went as far as doing the training and some of the paperwork and then through various events happening I did not go any further. The woman being described above is the woman I envisage myself being – this is how I want to change my world. For as long as I can remember seeing homeless people has filled me with such a deep sadness ~ At some level I understand them. The aloneness even in a sea of people is something I recognise in them and I do not want them to feel that way. They are as present as you and I. Even this explanation is not accurate enough. I see them. Really see them even when they think I don’t, even when I don’t drop change into their extended hands I see them. They break my heart and I have no time for all the ‘Its their fault they are in that situation, no one forced them to drink or take drugs.’ That may be true but no one is perfect right and people make mistakes. Anyway I digress. I guess we all can make things better in our own way and bring a ray of sunshine into someone’s life even if we don’t get anything back except the satisfaction. It takes a pinch of courage and huge dose of selflessness to even start.

6 thoughts on “The woman I want to be

  1. Pingback: Courageous, wonderful MOPs women « Divine Steps

  2. Pingback: On Scary Ladies: “Do not forget the wit!” « Dysatisfunctional.com

Leave a Reply

